Skip to content

The Real Experts

July 12, 2012

I was talking to a friend who said he reads this blog. I told him that I hadn’t been writing much because I really do NOT like depressing people. When I have been asked to speak about the economy and my concerns about our future, I have been followed one too many times by other speakers who respond to my presentation with, “Well, I chose to be an optimist.” Interpreted: This guy who just spoke to you is just ‘a glass half empty’ kind of pessimist.

I do not look at the world as a glass half empty, but I also would suggest it is time to be pragmatic. There are a million commentators, experts, bloggers, authors, talk-show-hosts and others who will offer their opinions about the economy and what they would do to fix our financial crisis. My purpose in beginning this blog was to encourage individuals to think on their own and if they had similar concerns, to prepare in a way they thought best. The last thing I want to do is create more stress for anyone reading my opinions. When I speak or when I write about finance, budgets, monetary policy, derivatives, or the economy, I always want to be conscious of balancing these issues.

I watch with amazement those “experts” who either ignore clear warning signs of pending economic collapse (like the real estate bubble), or those who pour gasoline on the fire of the financial meltdown, because they are positioned to make money from collapsing financial markets. Loud mouths with some type of personal agenda really frustrate me — I hope I don’t come across as one of those guys. However, I want to give you a few names of individuals I like to listen to —  in case you ever hear them in an interview you can know they are trustworthy.

I would be the first to tell you not to listen to me, listen to them; they are smart, they are responsible and they have been proven to be correct when others blindly followed the rest of the lemmings right over the cliff.

Comments are closed.

